Library Association of Rockland County

Supporting and promoting the 17 public libraries in Rockland County, New York

2019 Book of the Year Award Winner: Marie Liberace

Marie Liberace was born in Dublin.  She is a Professor of Philosophy and Speech at SUNY Rockland Community College.  In addition, Marie volunteers actively throughout the county, including serving on the Board of Directors for Friends of Finkelstein Memorial Library, Antrim Playhouse, and Good Samaritan Hospital.  Marie’s other book of poetry, Walking on Water, was shortlisted for last year’s award.  Lament in a Minor Key is available through the RCLS library catalog.

This collection of poems reflects life and nature in all their upheaval and dissonance, but also lets the reader see order restored and resolution and movement toward harmony with the restoration of beauty and promise.

Congratulations, Marie!  Many thanks to local author Eleanor Kuhns for serving as our guest judge this year. 


Scholarships Awarded at 2019 Annual Meeting

Each year, the Library Association of Rockland County awards scholarships to individuals who are pursuing their library science degree.  This year, LARC is pleased to congratulate the following scholarship recipients:

LARC Scholarships:  Briyantan Ganaganayagam and Bethany Savino

Mary Patricia Brunsman Scholarship Memorial Award:  Samantha Sambrato

Rockland Teens Celebrated at SCRAWL 2019 Launch Party

On May 2, 2019, the Teen Division of LARC hosted at launch party at the Pearl River Public Library for Scrawl 2019: Rockland Teens Write.  2019 marks the the fourth edition of this unique publication in which the creativity of Rockland County teens is showcased.  At the launch party, each of the 51 published teens was presented with a copy of the book and were able to meet two of the this year's guest editors: JG Faherty and Dan Waters.

It takes a committee of dedicated librarians the better part of a year to collect and review submissions, secure guest editors, layout and publish an issue of SCRAWL.   The 2019 committee was Emily Dowie, Joanna Goldfarb, Jessica Gordon, Patrice Gottfried, Mary Phillips, and Ruth Vandervanter.

Click on this link to learn more about the 2019 edition of ScrawlScrawl on Goodreads

LARC Youth Services Division receives Dynamic Group Award!

April is the "Month of the Young Child," and in celebration Child Care Resources of Rockland, Inc. proudly recognizes those who have demonstrated a commitment to improving the lives of young children by annually bestowing its Children's Champions Awards.  We are proud to announce that their 2019 Dynamic Group Award has been awarded to the LARC Youth Services Division! 

"In recognizing the dedication and the accomplishments of our partners and providers, we acknowledge their impact on our children, their families, and their future," said CCRR Executive Director Vicki Caramante.  "The dedicated professionals  being honored this year have and will continue to mold, shape, and impact the lives of generations of children, providing them with a strong foundation of love, nurturing, and learning."

The CCRR had these words to say about LARC's Youth Services Division:

"The Library Association of Rockland County's Youth Services Division are literacy advocates, teachers, and philanthropists.  In managing library programs for children birth-12, they research and select books and other materials for acquisition then plan and conduct programs for children of varying ages and abilities.  The librarians meet regularly to share experiences and updates as a way to support one another in their mutual commitment to better serve Rockland's diverse community.  Advocacy efforts to ignite the joy of reading reach beyond the libraries walls: the librarians participate in community service activities, such as the Nyack Halloween Parade and book drives to support organizations such as People to People, Rockland Jewish Family Service, and the Center for Safety and Change."

All of the 2019 award recipients will be honored on Wednesday, April 10th at the Nyack Seaport, 21 Burd Street, Nyack, NY.  The award ceremony will begin promptly at 5:45 p.m and is free to attend.  There will be dinner and dancing following the ceremony at 7 p.m. at the Nyack Seaport.  Please click here  for more information or to purchase tickets for the dinner and dancing.

  LARC Teen Services Division wins
  $500 Endowment

The Horror Writers Association (HWA), the premier organization of writers and publishers of horror and dark fantasy and home of the iconic Bram Stoker Awards®, announced on March 1, 2019 that this year's recipient of their Young Adults Write Now endowment is our own Teen Services Division!  The Division will receive $500 to fund their annual teen writing program, SCRAWL: Rockland Teens Write.

"We are pleased to present the 2018 endowment to Rockland County," said HWA President Lisa Morton. "Public libraries expanding genre fiction programs is an exciting development in HWA's commitment to the field."

Young Adults Write Now is part of the HWA's on-going commitment to furthering young adult literacy, and it is open to all school and public libraries. Each year, the HWA provides up to five endowments of $500 each for selected libraries to establish or continue genre-focused writing programs for teens.

Congratulations to Jessica Gordon and the entire SCRAWL team!

LARC Awards Second Book of the Year Award

The Library Association of Rockland County is pleased to announce that this year's Book of the Year Award winner is Greta Nettleton, author of The Quack's Daughter: A True Story About the Private Life of a Victorian College Girl.  Click on this link to learn more about Ms. Nettleton and her award-winning book: Rockland Libraries pick local "Book of the Year"

Authors interested in submitting their work for next year's contest may do so between 6/15/18 and 8/24/18. 

LARC Book of the Year 2018 Info.jpg

LARC Book of the Year Submission 2018-1.pdf

2018 LARC Scholarship Recipients

Each year, the Library Association of Rockland County awards scholarships to three individuals who are pursuing their library science degree.

This year's recipients are (from left to right)
Katrina Hohlfeld [VCL]
Morgan Strand [NYK]
Amy Carozzi [TCL] 

Congratulations, Ladies!

LARC Celebrates Local Teen Authors and Artists

On Thursday, May 10th, the LARC Teen Division hosted the 2018 Book Launch Party for the third edition of Scrawl: Rockland Teens Write.  104 people attended the event at which each published teen was presented with a copy of the book.  Guest editors JG Faherty and Carolyn MacCullough were in attendance and signed books for the teens and their families.

The Scrawl project began in 2015 and led to the 2016 publication of the first edition.  This year's Committee, chaired by Jessica Gordon, included Emily Dowie, Joanna Goldfarb, Ruth Vandervanter, and Kristie Revicki.

Check out this link to learn more about the third edition of ScrawlScrawl on Goodreads


PO Box 917, New City, NY 10956

Powered by Wild Apricot. Try our all-in-one platform for easy membership management